top of page

What you need to know about NSLC

The New Standard Learning Center was designed by a nurse who wanted to change the way we treat each other, our patients, and our lives.

I believe you must bring your whole self to the table if you want to thrive in today’s crazy world; your personality, your sense of humor, and most importantly, your heart. All of these elements brought me to start The New Standard Learning Center. Ever since I launched this project, the blog has been thriving and has quickly gained a loyal following. To see what I’ve been up to, browse my site, learn about my passions, and explore what excites and interests you as well.

Purpose: To establish a new professional and personal standard for Certified Nursing Aides in their professional settings.

Vision: NSLC will develop the necessary skills in each individual to propel their personal, academic, and professional wellbeing and foster competent, highly qualified leaders equipped with a mindset centered on empathy, diversity, prosperity, and sustainability.

Academic Milestones: NSLC CNAs will undergo a four-week hybrid learning schedule that combines Professional Development with NATP CNA Program Standards. NSLC is a CNA training program through the American Red Cross.

NSLC Professional Development will include, but not limited to, the following:

  1. Social-Emotional Learning (SEL)

  2. Communication and Interpersonal Skills​

  3. Leadership Development​

  4. Infection Control

  5. Safety/ Emergency/FBAO/Body Mechanics

  6. Promoting residents’ Independence

  7. Respecting Residents’ rights

  8. Legal/ Ethical Behavior and scope of Practice

NATP Program Standards


Basic Nursing Skills


Care of Cognitively Impaired Residents


Personal Care Skills


Basic Restorative Services


Mental Health and Social Service Needs


Resident Rights

bottom of page